When someone thinks of the stereotypical french person, they picture I guy with a mustache, a striped shirt, and a beret, smoking, and holding a baguette, some cheese and of course a bottle of wine. From what I have noticed, all of these things are true (minus the berets) but most importantly the wine. The french love their wine. It is water to them. I have not only been fortunate enough to taste many delicious wines from Bordeaux to Champagne, I had the unique opportunity of being involved in the wine making process. In Michigan in the fall, I pick apples and drink cider. In France, you pick grapes and drink wine.
We woke up at the butt crack of dawn to spend hours out in the vineyards picking (and eating) grapes. We were able to work with the owners of the vineyard who told us about the grape making process and how they used organic grapes for the wine, which is why it took a lot of extra work. We took a snack break around noon, which consisted of bread, cheese, assorted meats and of course wine. That was glass number one of the day. Afterwords, we spent a few more hours on the vines. It evolved into a karaoke session, singing everything from Country Road to Drunk in Love. By the time they called us for lunch, we were wet, dirty, starving and tired.
This wasn't your average meal. We sat around a makeshift table when this giant chef comes out with a literal pork leg in his hand. He had cured it himself and began to slice it right of the leg for us to consume. It was a bit disturbing, but it was delicious. We do not eat a lot of cured meats in America, and that is something I am definitely going to miss. This was the best I had had. After, we ate the first plate, which I thought was the only plate and therefor stuffed my face. When they started bringing out the next course, I thought I might explode. By the time the dessert came out I was sneaking food under the table to my friends.
At pretty much any french meal other than breakfast, you drink wine, but especially when at the vineyard. We had two glasses before we started eating. Through the course of the meal I was probably served 5 different types of wine. When the meal was over, one of the men from the vineyard gave me what I thought was just sugar cube but was actually soaked in what tasted like rubbing alcohol. Never challenge a French person to a drinking contest...
Although going out to the vineyards did make me miss Michigan falls, what with the leaves and the apples and the cider, it was such a unique and wonderful experience that I am sure I will never forget, despite the amount of alcohol I consumed throughout the day...
Sunday, October 12, 2014
Sunday, October 5, 2014
Maison Sweet Maison
Before arriving to France, I was told several times that 6 months is just enough time for you to finally get adjusted to life in France and start to feel comfortable. For me, it has been closer to 6 weeks. Every day has been so packed with activities and adventures, it seems like I have fit half a years worth of activities into just a few weeks. Which is why there is not much to report this blog post, because all I really did this week was finally relax and adjust. I feel like I am really getting used to the rhythm of the quotidien life here.
It has been great to finally feel like home here in France. I have gotten so used to the people and the city, and I love everything about it. I have even started to venture out beyond my American friends/French family, hanging out with some of the native Frenchies and international students. After this experience and from the past few years I have spent at K college, I will have friends from countries all over the world! Pretty crazy...
But although it was nice to spend most of the past couple days just watching TV and baking cakes, I couldn't help but think how much better it would be with a glass of cider (they have cider here but it is all alcoholic and not at all the same). Or how much I would love to just walk around the house barefoot in my PJs. Or, best of all, go with my family to Art Prize (that's where they were this weekend). I love it here. I wouldn't trade it for the world. But there is nothing like a Michigan fall with friends and family. I love the new normal, but I love the old one too.
It has been great to finally feel like home here in France. I have gotten so used to the people and the city, and I love everything about it. I have even started to venture out beyond my American friends/French family, hanging out with some of the native Frenchies and international students. After this experience and from the past few years I have spent at K college, I will have friends from countries all over the world! Pretty crazy...
But although it was nice to spend most of the past couple days just watching TV and baking cakes, I couldn't help but think how much better it would be with a glass of cider (they have cider here but it is all alcoholic and not at all the same). Or how much I would love to just walk around the house barefoot in my PJs. Or, best of all, go with my family to Art Prize (that's where they were this weekend). I love it here. I wouldn't trade it for the world. But there is nothing like a Michigan fall with friends and family. I love the new normal, but I love the old one too.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


